IE9 cache not refreshing

This is one for you web designers out there.

I recently changed from using IE9 as my default web browser for testing, instead of IE8.
I’ve noticed that IE9 seems very temperamental with regards reloading the files and seems to stick with the cached copy. This obviously results in latest changes not being displayed when you look at the site live.

In the past, through IE5, 6, 7 & 8, a click on the refresh button would address this, or if that failed a click on the refresh button while holding shift and control, however, this doesn’t seem to work in IE9 and the app constantly loads from the cached copy.

I eventually found that I had to force the browser to ‘Always refresh from server’ using the F12 Developer tools (available via the F12 key or from the Tools menu).

With this set the latest page is always loaded.

That’s all well and good for the likes of web designers that are used to the gobbledygook and techno babble, but I can see issues trying to explain how to do this to clients who are less techy savvy!

Thanks Microsoft! 😦

Taff Lovesey
Owner www.litespc.co.uk

About taffybach

Author of the young adult fantasy novel series, The Portal Chronicles, including The Spider Gem and The Shimmering Gate. When not writing and promoting Taff runs a small IT support company, LITES PC based in Bourne UK.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to IE9 cache not refreshing

  1. Dawn Drury says:

    Boy, you are right IE9 is a pain to get it to load current. thanks for helping me. However, like you said I can’t expect my client to go to all the extra rig-a-ma roll to make sure they have the current page loading. I’m glad I got her to switch to Mozilla Firefox! It’s really easy to use.

  2. Trudy says:

    I tried this but when I go to the Cache menu in F12 Developer Tools, ‘Always refresh from server’ is greyed out …

    • taffybach says:

      If you can’t do it that way then you can chnage it in the main IE9 settings.
      >Tools
      >Internet Browsing History
      >Settings
      >Change default to ‘Every time I visit webpage’

      To be honest I now leave my browser like this all the time so it walways loads the lates. SOme might argue that it slows down loading as I’m not using my local cache but it is hardly noticeable to be honest.

  3. spareparts says:

    God Bless You, TAFFY! I was knocking my head into the wall, trying to get a new image rotator application to ‘reload’. Good GRIEF! Thank you!!

  4. Rudy says:

    This isn’t even the worst of it. IE9 still hangs on to old cached pages regardless of the settings in either area of developer tools or internet options. Try saving a web page w/ data on it. change one field. it might work right 3 or 4 times, but keep going. You will see your changes reverting back to an old cached copy of a save 2 or 3 saves back. Pressing F5 usually once, but maybe twice might for a true refresh to re-read from db. Don’t even get me started on ConnectionState.Broken = True at random points through out session. This doesn’t happen on IE7 or other name brand browsers, just IE8 and IE9

Leave a Reply

