How to Fix Windows Update 800B0100 Errors

Earlier today I had a system that would not install Windows 7 64bit Service Pack 1 via the update process. Here’s how I got around it:

  1. Open Control Panel and turn off auto updates.
  2. Browse to C:/Windows/SoftwareDistribution/Download
  3. Delete all contents in the Download folder but do not remove the folder.
  4. Next browse to C:/Windows/SoftwareDistribution/DataStore
  5. Delete all contents but again do not delete the folder itself.
  6. Open the Logs folder and delete the contents. Do not delete the Logs folder itself
  7. Open a browser and go to http://go.microsoft.com/?linkid=9665683
  8. Download and run this fix
    Note this has two modes Default and Aggressive. Try Default first.
  9. Restart the computer.
  10. Turn Windows Auto Updating back on
  11. Run Windows Update to download and install the latest updates

If this process doesn’t work then try running the fix in Aggressive mode

Note: for items 3, 5 & 6 you may find some files are locked and you are unable  to delete them. If so then make sure Windows Auto Update is off and reboot the system. You should now be able to remove them.
Note too that even after this I had problems deleting one file in the DataStore but Windows did allow me to rename (strange). After I did this I was able to delete it.

 

Hope this helps

Taff Lovesey
Owner
www.litespc.co.uk
www.weblites.co.uk
www.lovesey.net 

About taffybach

Author of the young adult fantasy novel series, The Portal Chronicles, including The Spider Gem and The Shimmering Gate. When not writing and promoting Taff runs a small IT support company, LITES PC based in Bourne UK.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to How to Fix Windows Update 800B0100 Errors

  1. Anthonaut says:

    I tried all of the Windows fixes and methods but none worked. I followed your method Taff and it worked perfectly. Thanks for the help!🙂

  2. Ricky says:

    This was a great fix, thank you.

  3. Craig says:

    I’ll second what Anthonaut said. Tried the Microsoft recommendations and they didn’t work. Tried yours and it worked first time. Well, second time, actually, as I had to go for the aggressive approach. Thanks.

  4. Steph says:

    this fixed it for me too thank you, it’s been driving me mad for weeks!

  5. Donna says:

    Awesome, I have this fix saved. It worked when nothing else did.

  6. wisey38johny says:

    awesome worked for me to. thank you

  7. zel says:

    It didn’t work for me. Are there any other suggestions
    out there

  8. glen says:

    Taff ,thanks a lot mate,2 days of pulling what’s left of me hair out has just ended.

  9. kruno says:

    Windows 7 64bit Service Pack 1, status: fixed. Thank you.

  10. ????? says:

    in step number 3 after delete all the content. do you have to delete in the Recycle Bin too? same thing for step 5 and 6 (after delete)

    please reply my message or question?!!!!!
    THANK YOU

  11. ????? says:

    one more thing between step 4-5. I have two folder in C:/Windows/Software Distribution/Data Store
    one is logs and the other one is data store.eb. do i have to delete store.ed too? sorry i should put this the preview message, but i just notice that problem about 1 min! can you please answer this question too?

    THANK YOU!!!! AGAIN

  12. ????? says:

    one more sorry after http://go.microsoft.com/?linkid=9665683, i keep getting a “the installer has encounter an unexpected error installing this package.this may indicate a problem with package.the code is error code 2738! copies work for work
    please help me

  13. Mike Johnson says:

    Finally! Thanks a million! This was bugging me, too, for a while now. Sheeeewww🙂

  14. suresh says:

    Awesome … thank u it was a quick fix

  15. Sadhu says:

    The only thing that worked!!!!
    Lots of thanks!!!

  16. m110a2 says:

    ¡¡MUCHAS GRACIAS!! Funcionó perfectamente.

  17. juliesmadness says:

    Hey, I am having some issues with this. I can’t delete some of the files, as you said might happen, but no matter what I do to try to remedy the problem, it still won’t work. Do you think I should have it checked out by a professional or do you have any more tips that might work? Would love it if I could just solve this dumb problem on my own!

    • taffybach says:

      If you’ve followed all the instructions on this post I’m afraid it’s a case of trawling forums for other ideas or hoping someone else posts a response here. At the moment I haven’t got the time to trawl for other links for you – sorry.
      If you do find a solution that enhances this one then please add a link here so that it helps others. I will do likewise if I come across one.

  18. MentaleDieet says:

    Finally fixed it! Thanks man🙂

Leave a Reply

