Remove the Windows Live Mail Sign-In Screen

Windows Live Mail desktop has the ability to interface with Microsoft to share other applications. Unfortunately if a user has inadvertently clicked this sign-in icon they will always be prompted to sign in to Microsoft Live Mail when they open Live Mail, even if they are not using a Microsoft email account.

This can be very confusing for the user and there is no obvious way to remove this sign in prompt. In fact, people often think they cannot send email unless they sign in, in fact, if they just click cancel on this screen then they can continue to use their email as normal.

However, the following steps detail how to remove this annoying Windows Live sign-in screen prompt…

Open Windows Live Mail and go to:

  1. The Windows Live Mail drop-down menu icon (top left above ‘Email Message’ icon).
  2. Select ‘Options’, then click on ‘Mail’ from the selection offered.Windows Live Mail
  3. In the mail ‘Options’ property pages, select the ‘Connection’ tab and click ‘Stop Signing in’ from the ‘Connecting to Windows Live Services’ section.
  4. Click ‘stop signing in’ to any warning messages.
    wlm2
  5. Click ‘OK’ to exit the ‘Options’ Property pages
  6. Close Windows Live Mail

When you re-open it you should no longer be prompted for the Microsoft login.

 

Taff Lovesey
www.litespc.co.uk
www.weblites.co.uk
www.lovesey.net

About taffybach

Author of the young adult fantasy novel series, The Portal Chronicles, including The Spider Gem and The Shimmering Gate. When not writing and promoting Taff runs a small IT support company, LITES PC based in Bourne UK.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s