Facebook Basics – Signing up and hiding messages from individual friends

Love it or hate it, Facebook is a superb way for keeping in touch and sharing information with friends, family and interest groups. Finding long lost friends and colleagues is almost guaranteed. This short article will show you how to get started and how to hide those unwanted messages from Facebook ‘friends’. Give it a try, it truly isn’t scary and you have more control on what you ‘see’ than you may think.

Signing up to Facebook

Nice and easy this. Go to www.facebook.com and complete the sign up form and click on Submit.

Your account will be created and you will now see something like the first sign-in screen as shown.

Facebook Sign Up

Skip step one for now (you can add friends later).

You will now be prompted for some personal info which will help old friends and relatives find you. This includes Schools, Colleges, Universities, Employers, Home town and current town.

Click next and you will be asked to upload a picture for your profile. Don’t be shy! By uploading your picture it can help others confirm who you are (long lost friends, family members, work colleagues etc;). If you don’t want an image just click on Skip.  You now have your Facebook account set-up and ready to go.

What is this email verification I’ve been sent?

Whilst you were busy setting up the above, Facebook will have sent an email to your inbox to ask you to verify you are who you say you are. Go to your email and click on the verification link in the email. This will verify your account and you will now have full access to Facebook pages and feeds (ie; messages).

Adding People to Facebook

You can now search for people with whom you want to share information.

Click in the box at the top of the page and enter the name of the person. There may be multiple people with the same name so that extra information and uploaded image is essential.

Facebook add friends

Click the name of the person
Click Add Friend to add them to your Facebook account. That person will receive a notification to confirm they know you and then you will start to receive updates posted to Facebook by that ‘friend’.

How Do I Hide Facebook Posts Sent From a Friend?

Sadly some people are Facebook nuisances and they load their Facebook with all sorts of drivel. If someone is bombarding you with Facebook posts that are of no interest then you can stop these in two ways. The first way is to Unfriend them, hence removing them completely. The better way, if you want to leave them on your friends list, is to stop receiving updates from them to your newsfeed. To achieve either of these:

Search or Click on a friend to view their profile.

block-posts.fwClick on the on the ‘Friends’ tab (see image)

Either click on Unfriend to remove them completely
or remove the tick from Show in News feed to stop this individual’s posts appearing in your Facebook news feed (posts).

Hope this helps

Taff Lovesey
www.litespc.co.uk
www.weblites.co.uk
www.lovesey.net

About taffybach

Author of the young adult fantasy novel series, The Portal Chronicles, including The Spider Gem and The Shimmering Gate. When not writing and promoting Taff runs a small IT support company, LITES PC based in Bourne UK.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s