Turn off Windows 10 messages in Windows Update

Many people feel they are being bullied into using Windows 10 and that their systems no longer provide updates unless they install 10. The latter is is not true. When running Windows Update you will see a screen similar to this.

image

The secret here is to ignore the Get Started text and click on the Show all available updates

You will now be presented with a large list of Windows Updates. Notice at the bottom right one optional update has already been automatically selected – this is the ‘bullying’ bit as Microsoft click this box for you!

Before going any further click on the Optional link

image

IMPORTANT! Now remove the tick from Upgrade to Windows 10

The ‘count’ at the bottom right shoud now show no updates selected.

image

You can now manually select the Important and/or Optional updates that apply to your system without initiating the Windows 10 upgrade.

image

You can now click on all those that you want to install.

Initiate the updates by clicking Install.

You can also HIDE the Windows 10 upgrade so that it doesn’t keep prompting you.

  • Go back into the Windows Update – Optional screen
  • RIGHT CLICK on the Windows 10 upgrade
  • Click on Hide update

image

 

Hope this helps

Taff Lovesey
www.litespc.co.uk
www.weblites.co.uk
www.lovesey.net (my fantasy novels)

About taffybach

Author of the young adult fantasy novel series, The Portal Chronicles, including The Spider Gem and The Shimmering Gate. When not writing and promoting Taff runs a small IT support company, LITES PC based in Bourne UK.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s