How To Update Your Google Chrome Bookmarks Without Synchronisation Putting All the Old Ones Back Again

If you have ever tried to manage and clean up your Google Bookmarks you may face the frustration (as I did) of all the old ones being restored automatically.

This occurs when you are logged into your Google account and have the Bookmark Synchronisation enabled (the default setting).

To get around this there are a number of steps that you need to take.

First of all I’d recommend backing up your Google Bookmarks locally.

 

  • Open the Bookmark Manager

image

  • Next click on Organise and Export bookmark to HTML file
  • Save this file in  a suitable location (e.g.; backups)

The next step is to disable the automatic synchronisation with Google for bookmarks.

  • Click on the 3 bars at top right
  • Click on Settings

At the top of the page you should see the account that you are logged in with.

  • Click on Advanced Sync settings

image

  • Click Choose what to sync if not already selected
  • Remove the tick from Bookmarks to turn off synchronisation
  • Click OK

image

This next step is very important. If you are using Chrome under your Google login on other devices, you need to check the synchronisation settings on these devices too. Watch out for phones and tablets that may be resynchronising old bookmark data. Turn off all of these other synch settings too or you’re going to get very frustrated as old bookmarks will keep popping up again.

You can now use the Google Chrome bookmark manager to add/move/delete folders and bookmarks until you are happy that all is as you want it.

Before turning synchronisation back on again you need to login to your Google Dashboard and clear the old bookmark data otherwise all your hard work will be undone.

  • Go back to Settings again and in the account information at the top of the window you will see a link to the Google Dashboard. Click this.

image

You will now be taken to  settings page displaying all of the current synchronised data. To clear this click on the Reset Sync button at the bottom of the page.

image

After a few seconds all of the values shown will be zero. You are now ready to turn your synchronisation back on.

  • Go back to Google Chrome Settings for a third time
  • Click on Advanced sync settings once again
  • Turn the Bookmark sync back on to ensure your bookmarks are backed up to your Google Account.

You should now be done but remember, if you are using Chrome under your Google login on other devices, you need to check the synchronisation settings on these devices too. Watch out for phones and tablets that may be resynchronising old bookmark data.

 

Hope this helps

 

Taff Lovesey
www.litespc.co.uk
www.weblites.co.uk
www.lovesey.net (Fantasy novels)

About taffybach

Author of the young adult fantasy novel series, The Portal Chronicles, including The Spider Gem and The Shimmering Gate. When not writing and promoting Taff runs a small IT support company, LITES PC based in Bourne UK.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s